Zero English

I am the music man

Use the song ‘I am the music man’ to teach vocabulary of musical instruments, as well as some adjectives. The activities in this plan can be adapted to suit students of varied ages and abilities. The ‘conductor’ activity is good for building classroom control, motivation and attention among younger learners.

music man lesson plan
‘I am the music man’ lesson plan

Five different ideas for using the song ‘I am the music man’ with young learners. Includes ways to use the song, a simple writing activity and instructions for a roleplay where students get the the chance to ‘conduct’ a classroom orchestra!


music class lyrics
‘I am the music man’ lyrics (traditional)

Display this simple lyrics sheet so that students can read along with you.


music class lyrics
‘We are the the music class’ lyrics

I prefer these lyrics to the traditional ones, as they are more inclusive and not gender-specific. My class loved performing this song to their parents!


music man fill in
Make your own version of ‘I am the music man’

Template for students to make their own version of the song by drawing, writing, or glueing words in the blanks.


music class fill in
Make your own version of ‘We are the music class’

Template for students to make their own version of the song by drawing, writing, or glueing words in the blanks.


twinkl instrument cards
Musical instrument vocabulary cards from Twinkl

I didn’t make my own flashcards as I think these ones from Twinkl are great.


If you need musical accompaniment, try this version of ‘I am the music man’ from KiddieOk on youtube.

You might also like…


Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes

Head, shoulders, knees and toes

Five Variations of Woosh! A Reading Fluency Game

Five variations of Woosh!

Basic Shapes

Basic Shapes

Discussion

5 thoughts on “I am the music man

  1. Thanks so much for the great download. This goes along perfectly with what I am teaching at the moment!
    Sarah

    Posted by Anonymous | February 3, 2013, 10:49 pm
  2. Glad you liked it Sarah. Thanks for stopping by!

    Posted by Early Years English | February 3, 2013, 10:51 pm
  3. I”m going to send my music teacher this way…she is responsible for teaching vocabulary and testing over it as well.

    D Frideley

    Posted by df | February 4, 2013, 4:55 pm
  4. Thanks Deniece! I checked out your blog as well – I love the snowman synonyms and antonyms activities!

    Posted by Early Years English | February 4, 2013, 5:05 pm
  5. Nice post! I’m teaching this book this month with my 5-years kindergarten students!

    Posted by ketaninkorea | November 27, 2016, 10:38 pm

Leave a Reply

